• Release date:
  • Tracks:
  • Lenght time:
  • Label:

Varèse Sarabande

THE MATRIX: The Deluxe Edition

  • Release date:
  • Tracks:
  • Lenght time:
  • Label:

Varèse Sarabande


The Matrix (ENGLISH)

The Matrix (Don Davis). As almost always, Varèse was remaining short with the scanty 30 minutes of the original edition of the soundtrack of The Matrix, giving option to re-edit the same one 9 years later with more than the double of footage. We can understand that every minute of a soundtrack supposes invested money in editing the disc, but, being evil-minded, we might think that it is a strategy of the proper label to be able to make profitable for two times the same soundtrack. Many cases are in which it is the same label the one that edits the original version and the expanded version in regards of years, and this fact, added to other soundtracks edited by another labels that are, in general form, much more generous in the footage than Varèse, does of this label the one that we like less.

In spite of being a score beyond the common for a science fiction film, it is true that The Matrix's aesthetics is also something really original with regard to the science fiction created until 1999. The music flees from the melodic themes, barely present in the total time of the score, but it bases its extraordinary efficiency on an orchestration that gives shape to the image, for moments distressing.

Compared with other expanded and complete editions, the Deluxe Edition of The Matrix would not pass of being a normal edition. One disc, 77 minutes of music and a booklet with some photos, besides a not very extensive text that speaks about the score, would fit in what should be a normal edition of a soundtrack. But having the poor precedent that the original 1999 album supposed, this edition is more than comforting.

The Deluxe Edition of The Matrix was commercialized as a limited edition of 3000 copies.

Matrix (ESPAÑOL)

Matrix (Don Davis). Como casi siempre, Varèse se quedaba corta con los escasos 30 minutos de la edición original de la banda sonora de The Matrix, dando opción a reeditar la misma 9 años después con más del doble de metraje. Podemos entender que cada minuto de una banda sonora supone dinero invertido en editar el disco, pero, siendo mal pensados, podríamos llegar a creer que es una estrategia del propio sello para poder rentabilizar por dos veces la misma banda sonora. Muchos son los casos en los que es el mismo sello el que edita la versión original y la versión expandida en cuestión de años, y esto sumado a que otras bandas sonoras de otros sellos son, por norma general, mucho más generosas en el metraje que Varèse, hace de este sello uno de los que menos nos gustan.

A pesar de ser una partitura fuera de lo común para una cinta de ciencia ficción, es cierto que la estética de The Matrix también es algo realmente original respecto a la ciencia ficción creada hasta 1999. La música huye de los temas melódicos, apenas presentes en el total del score, pero basa su extraordinaria efectividad en una orquestación que da forma a la imagen, por momentos angustiosa.

Comparada con otras ediciones expandidas y completas, la edición Deluxe de The Matrix no pasaría de ser una edición normal. Un disco, 77 minutos de música y un libreto con algunas fotos, además de un texto no muy extenso que habla sobre el score, encajaría en lo que debería ser una edición normal de una banda sonora. Pero contando con el pobre antecedente que supuso la edición original, esta edición es más que reconfortante.

La edición Deluxe de The Matrix fue comercializada como edición limitada de 3000 copias.

Total Time: 30:07
  1. Main Title / Trinity Infinity (3:54)
  2. Unable to Speak (1:15)
  3. The Power Plant (2:41)
  4. Welcome to the Real World (2:28)
  5. The Hotel Ambush (5:23)
  1. Exit Mr. Hat (1:23)
  2. A Virus (1:33)
  3. Bullet-Time (1:10)
  4. Ontological Shock (3:32)
  5. Anything Is Possible (6:48)
THE MATRIX: The Deluxe Edition (2008)
Total Time: 77:54
  1. Main Title / Trinity Infinity (3:52)
  2. Neo On The Edge (3:24)
  3. Unable To Speak (1:14)
  4. Bait And Switch (3:17)
  5. Switched For Life (3:36)
  6. Switched At Birth (2:40)
  7. Switch's Brew (2:25)
  8. Cold Hearted Switch (1:39)
  9. Nascent Nauseous Neo (2:07)
  10. A Morpheus Moment (1:32)
  11. Bow Whisk Orchestra (1:06)
  12. Domo Showdown (1:15)
  13. Switch Or Break Show (1:04)
  14. Shake, Borrow, Switch (0:35)
  15. Freeze Face (1:50)
  1. Switch Woks Her Boa (2:05)
  2. Switch Out (2:58)
  3. Boon Spoy (1:08)
  4. Oracle Cookies (1:28)
  5. Threat Mix (5:26)
  6. Exit Mr. Hat (1:18)
  7. On Your Knees, Switch (4:47)
  8. Mix The Art (1:29)
  9. Whoa, Switch Brokers (4:02)
  10. No More Spoons (1:01)
  11. Dodge This (1:08)
  12. Ontological Shock (3:30)
  13. That's Gotta Hurt (5:18)
  14. Surprise! (4:06)
  15. He's The One Alright (6:48)

Search Film Score...

Latest OST Releases