TROY Soundtrack (2004)
  • Release date:
  • Tracks:
  • Lenght time:
  • Label:

Reprise Records

TROY Soundtrack: Expanded Score (2017)

TROY: Expanded Score

  • Release date:
  • Tracks:
  • Lenght time:
  • Label:

October 3, 2017



Troy (James Horner). One symptom of the good moment that goes through commercialization of expanded editions is Troy, from which the expanded version has been commercialized despite not being one of the best works of Horner, and that the original version had a satisfactory 75 minutes of duration. Even so, in part justice is done to publish composed music for the film but excluded from the original album released in 2004.

Armies Approach gives the tone of the film with some very unique female choirs. If the expanded editions win in anything is that they usually include diegetic music that forms the soundtrack as much or more than the rest of the score, and Feast Source is an example. Never Hesitate includes the Achilles theme for the first time, the most recognizable of the soundtrack, and the voice-over synthesizer base of Dawn Alarm demonstrates Horner's ability to show tension with barely instrumentation. Mistaken Identity (The Trojans Attack) represents the most heroic theme with the Achilles melody elevated to epic form. Despite the good work of the composer, it lacks an action theme that stands out from the rest, something that Horner almost always gets in his soundtracks.

The 2017 edition includes 35 minutes more than the 2004 edition, including 2 versions of the song Remember, as well as a booklet with deep but not overly extensive commentary. It is noteworthy the little renovation that has undergone the cover with respect to the version of 2004, as well as the absence of commentaries more extensive than a mere mention on the original score that Gabriel Yared composed for Troy, and that was discarded by the studio to ask to Horner a second version. As one of the most famous cases of rejected score, and with the antecedent of the double edition of the scores that Jerry Goldsmith and Maurice Jarre composed for The River Wild and that published the own Intrada, the case of Troy would have been the perfect stage to repeat the edition with the two versions.


Troya (James Horner). Un síntoma del buen momento que atraviesa a comercialización de ediciones expandidas es Troya, de la que se ha comercializado la versión expandida a pesar de no ser uno de los mejores trabajos de Horner, y de que la versión original contaba con unos satisfactorios 75 minutos de duración. Aun así, en parte se hace justicia al publicar música compuesta para la película pero excluida del álbum original lanzado en 2004.

Armies Approach otorga el tono de la película con unos coros femeninos muy singulares. Si en algo ganan las ediciones expandidas es en que suelen incluir música diegética que da forma a la banda sonora tanto o más que el resto del score, y Feast Source es un ejemplo de ello. Never Hesitate incluye el tema de Aquiles por primera vez, el más reconocible de la banda sonora, y la voz sobre base de sintetizadores de Dawn Alarm demuestra la habilidad de Horner para mostrar tensión con apenas instrumentación. Mistaken Identity (The Trojans Attack) representa el tema más heroico con la melodía de Aquiles elevada a la forma épica. A pesar del buen hacer del compositor, se echa en falta un tema de acción que sobresalga del resto, algo que Horner casi siempre consigue en sus bandas sonoras de acción.

La edición de 2017 incluye 35 minutos más que la edición de 2004, incluyendo 2 versiones del tema cantado Remember, además de un libreto con comentarios profundos, aunque no excesivamente extenso. Llama la atención la poca renovación que ha sufrido la carátula respecto a la versión de 2004, así como la ausencia de comentarios más extensos que una mera mención sobre la partitura original que Gabriel Yared compuso para Troya, y que fue desechada por el estudio para pedir a Horner una segunda versión. Siendo uno de los casos más famosos de score rechazado, y con el antecedente de la doble edición de las partituras que Jerry Goldsmith y Maurice Jarre compusieron para Río Salvaje y que publicó la propia Intrada, el caso de Troya hubiera sido el perfecto escenario para repetir la edición de las dos versiones.

Total Time: 75:15
Reprise Records
  1. 3200 Years Ago (3:36)
  2. Troy (5:01)
  3. Achilles Leads the Myrmidons (8:30)
  4. The Temple of Poseidon (3:28)
  5. The Night Before (3:28)
  6. The Greek Army and Its Defeat (9:38)
  7. Briseis and Achilles (5:19)
  8. The Trojans Attack (5:01)
  9. Hector's Death (3:27)
  10. The Wooden Horse and the Sacking of Troy (10:02)
  11. Through the Fires, Achilles... and Immortality (13:27)
  12. Remember (performed by Josh Groban with Tanja Tzarovska) (4:18)
TROY: Expanded Score
Total Time: 110:41
    DISC 1 (56:29)
  1. Armies Approach (Original Version)** (3:53)
  2. Call For Achilles* (3:07)
  3. Feast Source* (2:08)
  4. Brothers At War* (1:54)
  5. Never Hesitate* (1:38)
  6. Dawn Alarm** (1:27)
  7. The Myrmidons** (10:40)
  8. The Temple Fight** (4:10)
  9. Briseis Taken* (1:19)
  10. There Won’t Be A War* (3:02)
  11. River Styx And Gates Of Troy* (2:16)
  12. The Greeks Invade (5:42)
  13. A Trojan Victory** (9:34)
  14. Achilles Saves Briseis* (5:25)
    DISC 2 (62:28)
  1. Trojan Council* (1:52)
  2. Mistaken Identity (The Trojans Attack) (5:00)
  3. Hector Instructs Wife* (4:29)
  4. Hector Suits Up* (1:30)
  5. Hector’s Farewells* (2:50)
  6. Single Combat** (5:02)
  7. Priam Pleads* (3:32)
  8. Priam Takes Briseis* (1:29)
  9. Hector’s Funeral (1:01)
  10. The Wooden Horse** (9:20)
  11. The Sacking Of Troy And End Credits (Through the Fires, Achilles… and Immortality) (13:24)
  12. Remember (Film Version)* (performed by Josh Groban With Tanja Tzarovska) (4:23)

  14. Armies Approach (Film Version)* (3:53)
  15. Remember (Album Version) (performed by Josh Groban With Tanja Tzarovska) (4:15)
* Not Previously Released
** Includes Music Not Previously Released

Search Film Score...

Publication date: 10/28/2017.
Página publicada: 28/10/2017.